News forum

Unit 1 task: Introduce yourself

Unit 1 task: Introduce yourself

by Deleted user -
Number of replies: 7

Since this unit is called 'Introduction', your first task is to introduce yourself and your town or city. Please write a couple of sentences saying:

• where you're from
  • what you do
  • why you’re interested in improving public transport in your city

Please post your introduction in the news forum under Unit 1: Introduction.

We (Gustavo Jimenez and Saul Alveano) will be adding our thoughts and comments to the news forum on a regular basis as well.

In reply to Deleted user

Re: Unit 1 task: Introduce yourself

by Deleted user -

where you're from

what you do

why you’re interested in improving public transport in your city

Hello!

My name is Melissa Belato Fortes, I am an architect and urban planner from Sao Paulo, Brazil, with master’s degree in sustainable mobility. Currently I am doing a doctorate at the University of Sao Paulo and subject of the research is the relationship among density, mixed-use and a more sustainable urban mobility, as pedestrians ways, cycle paths, car sharing, etc. These themes are important for minimize air pollution and transit congestion, for example. Brazil it has generic legislation of Urban Mobility Plan where the municipal has to develop and implement your plans. 

To attract people, public transport needs to be efficient, have periodicity, be done with less polluting vehicles, take precedence over the individual motorized transport and be integrated with other modes of transport.

I'm interested in improving public transit in my city because I believe that there are other forms of locomotion in addition to transport by car and that these other forms can reduce congestion, air pollution and promote a healthier city.

In reply to Deleted user

by Deleted user -

Hello! I am João from Lisbon, Portugal. Graduated in Biochemistry and also studied Anthropology.